Farewell Atlantis Project

My experience in São Miguel has been absolutely unforgettable.  I have met the most wonderful individuals through this internship.  I am so thankful to the medical professionals who mentored me, especially those in Pediatrics and Orthopedic Surgery.  I am also very glad that I was able to teach English classes, although it was not my original intention or plan.  Through teaching I have gained a greater sense of community and an even greater appreciation for language and communication.  I am also thankful to our coordinator, Daniel, who made sure we arrived to the hospital safely and provided us with the necessary tools to get around the island.  His private tours were not only informative, but well sought out so that we only saw what he believed to be the best. I highly recommend checking out his company, TurisVerde if you ever want a great tour of the island.  This island is his backyard and he showcased it beautifully.  (Turis Verde)

I am so lucky to have been able to combine two of my passions into one epic summer internship: medicine and travel.  I hope to continue with my academic path onwards to be a doctor and continue to learn more about the world and its languages.

This trip could not have been possible without certain people who I would like to mention:

Thank you to Antonio Igrejas, my portuguese professor, without whom I would not have known about this internship.  Thank you for your support and guidance.  I would not have been able to forge such strong relationships with the people here without your teaching skill.

Thank you to my parents for supporting me on this summer adventure and all of the role models in my life who inspired me to go and explore the unknown.

Thanks to Dr. Juan Goncalves, Dr. Teresa Jacinto, and all the other medical professionals who have inspired me to continue forward with medicine and reaffirm my desire to become a doctor. And thank you for answering all my questions!

Thank you to Hospital do Divino Espiríto Santo for hosting me and allowing me to not only shadow doctors, but to learn about your health care system, take bioethics seminars, and give me the opportunity to teach English.

Thank you to Daniel Melo for showing me around the island and always making me feel taken care of and safe.

Lastly, thank you to my colleagues in the Atlantis Project for putting up with me for the last five weeks.  Wherever you may go, I wish you all the best!

P.S. If you liked this blog, the photos, and want to visit the Azores please check out Daniel’s tour company and like it on Facebook! He is great and speaks many languages too! Turis Verde

3 thoughts on “Farewell Atlantis Project

  1. I am so proud of you, Rachel! I am also so pleased that you have learned so much about the people and their culture, and through them, learned more about the the medical field that you have shown a desire to pursue. Your pictures and blog have been so informative and are also a wonderful representation of the Atlantis Project. I am very grateful to the people who looked after you and opened their hearts and shared their daily life/routine in the hospital with you. It will be fun to catch up with you once you are back home in Los Angeles. Be sure to let your colleagues know they are welcome to visit us!

    Love, Mom
    XXOO

    Like

  2. Caríssima: ainda bem que gostou da experiência. Obrigado e o prazer foi meu. E, obrigado por representar Wellesley tão bem!. A.I.

    Like

Leave a Reply

